Tiaras

Years ago I became obsessed with the amazing costumer Chantal Mallett. She mostly designs wedding dresses, but to me they seem more theatrical than bridal.

Chantal Mallet Gowns

Chantal also has a gorgeous line of accessories: tiaras, crowns, headdresses, masks… you name it! They’re made with wire and swarovski crystals.

Chantal Mallett Tiaras

I’ve long wanted to replicate some of these stunning beaded tiaras. And although mine are not quite as lovely as Ms. Mallett’s, they look very appropriate for the stage!

tri crown

I took some thicker gauge wire and formed the basic shape of a Tiara, then I haphazardly wound beads around the frame with a thinner wire. It was a bit time consuming to choose the designs and color schemes, but the actual making process wasn’t long at all. I made three altogether:

Queen

Princess

King

With these new pieces added to my costume arsenal, I’m even more excited for the start of our theater season in January 2014.

Leave a comment