Chiffon & Felt Flowers (Tutorial)

flower collage

I needed something to jazz up the t-shirts, leotards, and tutus the kids will be wearing for dance recitals and theater costumes. A quick glance at pinterest (which turned into the customary hours upon hours) lead me to the simple, glam and elegant fabric flower. I even made an entire board dedicated to tutorials and inspiration – be sure to check out my pin board for Paper & Fabric Flowers here. I looked over a lot of tutorials but nothing grabbed me. So I decided to make up my own pattern.

Here’s the finished product:

Finished t-shirts

I made the flower snap to the shirt so it’s removable. That way whatever t-shirt or leotard it’s embellishing can still be washed in the machine without ruining my creation.

20131202_143126(0)aaa-2_Fotor_Fotor_Collagea

Step one: Draw and cut out a simple flower pattern.

Step two: Pin your pattern to a piece of colored felt and start cutting.

Step three: Layer tulle, chiffon, or any pretty fabric you like over the felt, and cut it out too.

flowers

Step four: Add a few extra layers of  scrap tulle, chiffon, or other pretty fabric and stitch together.

Step five: Add a few sequins nestled in among the petals.

Flowers

Step six: (Optional) Sew a snap on the back of your flower, and the other half onto your garment.

I made a ton of different ones. It was really fun to experiment with colors, fabrics, and sparkly baubles to make each flower unique. They really dress up the kids’ costumes!

20131202_144912_Fotora

But Flowers weren’t the only element I added to these shirts – you’ll notice I also mixed in some rhinestones to add a little more color and sparkle. I used puffy paint to attach the rhinestones to the shirt. I think this should stand up to the wash, fingers crossed! Oh, and remember to place a piece of plastic (grocery bag, plastic wrap, ziploc, or even plastic packing materials) inside your garment so the puffy paint doesn’t seep through and glue the front and back together. I nearly made that mistake once – thank goodness I caught it in time!

Leave a Reply

